Boat Safety Scheme Examiners

Boat Safety Scheme Examiner

To qualify for a licence all boats based on UK Inland Waterways have to be inspected every four years under the Boat Safety Scheme. The scheme is jointly sponsored by the Canal and River Trust (CRT) and the Environment Agency (EA) and aims to reduce the risk of fires, explosions and poisonous gases on inland waterway boats by specifying a set of standards that most boats must satisfy before they will be granted a CRT or Environment Agency licence to be based on or to navigate the waterways. The requirements cover the fitting of fires, cookers, heating appliances and engines, and also stipulates minimum ventilation requirements. There are also some 'advice only' items. You can download a copy of the BSS Essential Guide here. All boaters are urged to fit and regularly test smoke alarms and Carbon Monoxide detectors. Although boat fires and deaths due to carbon monoxide poisoning are fairly rare, they are inevitably tragic, and usually avoidable. Just a few breaths of toxic smoke from a fire can knock a sleeping person unconscious, unlikely to survive even a limited fire.

 

If you are buying a boat note that the Boat Safety Scheme examination does not cover other areas of a boat's condition, for instance the state of the hull, engine or most internal features. It should never be used as a basis for buying or valuing a boat, you should get a marine surveyor to provide an expert opinion if you want to buy wisely.

 

Chris Halliwell Surveys. Boat Safety Scheme Certification in Avon, Somerset, Gloucestershire & Wiltshire for private, commercial & hire boats.

Marine Surveys Ltd are a team of professional surveyors who take regular instruction from Navigation Authorities, private boat buyers & owners, fleet operators, insurance companies, engine marinisers & boat builders.

Be Included
Boat Safety Scheme Examiners
Craig Allen Marine Limited Midlands & South   0797 3939 123 craigallenmarine@talktalk.net
Andy's Marine Services Bedfordshire   0791 9948813 andysmarineservices@hotmail.co.uk
Ashby Canal Centre Midlands   01455 212636 nigel@ashbycanalcentre.co.uk
Jim Atwell Harlow, Essex   07725671509 boatsafetyexaminer@outlook.com
Derek Barnett London, Herts, Kent   07973 258563 derekbarnett013@hotmail.com
Christopher Berry Midlands, S. Glos, S. Wales, S. Coast, S. West   07710 175871 chris@marinesurveyor.org.uk
Blue Star Surveys Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire   01405 769129 info@bluestarsurveys.co.uk
Boat Safety Surveys Essex   01255 861422 steve@moffattmarine.com
Broadcut Marine West Yorkshire   07855 930051 james@broadcutmarine.co.uk
Peter Brown Hampshire   07973 630861 brown.peter@tiscali.co.uk
Andy Clarke Oxfordshire   07860 577480 andy@bm-services.co.uk
Crew Marine South & Midlands   091628 531478 tim.crew@crewmarine.co.uk
Nigel Carton All UK   07989 388109 nigel.carton@btinternet.com
CS Marine Consultants Ltd Kent   07825 575979 colinsmith1954@yahoo.co.uk
Dave Devonport Northwest England    07971 510145 devonportboatsafety@yahoo.co.uk
Dragon Canal Services North West England, North Wales   079764 12658 russellfsmith@btinternet.com
DRS Marine Leeds   07962 398530 davidrstuart@yahoo.co.uk
Mark Edwards Cheshire/Shropshire   07970 384047 nbjosephinecollier@yahoo.co.uk
Andrew Ferguson North Wales Area   07841 352535 aferguson722@o2.co.uk
Des Fforde Stroud, Gloucestershire   07973 835120 ffordes@aol.com
Gallion Marine Surveys Lincolnshire   07866 857032 gallionmarine@yahoo.com 
Chris Halliwell Surveys - SEE TOP Bath   01225 863535 chris_j_halliwell@yahoo.co.uk
www.chrishalliwellsurveys.co.uk
Hands On Marine Ltd Sawley Marina   0790 888 5034 steve@handsonmarine.com
Heritage Narrow Boats Macclesfield canal   07980 171051 alan@clarke6810.fsnet.co.uk
Peter Hopley (Acorn Engineering) N W England, N Wales, W. Yorks   0161 336 2680 info@acornengineer.co.uk 
David Hughes Cheshire. Shropshire. N Wales   07831 405655 dhboatsafety@gmail.com
Iain Jones (Jannel Cruisers) Burton on Trent   01283 540006 jones.iain@virgin.net
Itsc Marine Ltd Northwest   07743 355509
07743 355072
Hammond.ian0@gmail.com
IWABSS Ltd All UK. Private and Hire Fleet BSS Examinations   07814 530679   steve@iwabss-limited.co.uk
www.iwabss-limited.co.uk
Rhys Killin Yorkshire and Lancashire   07748 861795 rhys_k1@yahoo.co.uk
Lancashire Marine Electrical Services North West England   07767 375450 john@lancsmarine.co.uk
Lanford Boat Examiners High Wycombe   07836 573687 russell@ditronic.co.uk
Marine Surveys Ltd - SEE TOP Cheshire   07831 184495 ws@marinesurveysltd.co.uk
www.marinesurveysltd.co.uk
Simon Merritt Notts./Lincs.   07889 663467 simon@boatexaminer.fsnet.co.uk
M H Marine Kent, Sussex, Essex, London, Surrey, Berks   07595 428639 mhmarine1@gmail.com
Bob Naylor Kennet & Avon, Devizes   01380 840584 bob@boatsafe.co.uk
NDL Boat Services Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire & Leicestershire   07780 697624 email@ndlboatservices.co.uk
HPC (Marine) Ltd Huntingdon, Cambs   01480 462735 p.bullen@ntlworld.com
Ocaid Boat Work Manchester & Liverpool   07720 399729 boatsafrty@brianheidi.freeserve.co.uk
Philip Patterson West Yorkshire and around   01132676886 clydevalley@talktalk.net
Paul Cailey Boats North West England   07403 311744 paulcaileyboats@yahoo.co.uk
Clive Penny Staffordshire Cheshire Midlands   07793 060628 info@canalelectrics.com
Andrew Phasey Midlands and South   07850 753633 info@theoldmainline.co.uk
Tony Pope Ely, Cambs   07833 393928 tony@boatsafetyexaminer.co.uk
Prentice Marine Worcester / Midlands / UK   079844 63725 prentice@photoartgraphics.fsnet.co.uk
Quest Marine Surveys Lancashire   07816 643804 enquiries@questmarinesurveys.com
Bill Rayner Yorkshire & Lancashire   07710 213312 billrayner@hjarga.com
Rupert Smedley Staffs, Chesh, Derbys, Shrops, West Midlands   07973 538690 rupert@hazelhurstcottage.co.uk
Roger Squires North West UK   01772 782692 rogersquireseng2@aol.com
Alan Stewart Beds/Bucks/Northants/Norfolk/Southern Midlands   01234 767156
07976 900113
Alan_Breck_Stewart@msn.com
Star Line Boats Coventry Canal, Nuneaton   07870 622730 oilyandrew@yahoo.co.uk
Stephen Swanick Cheshire, Shropshire, Lancashire, N. Wales   07786 364608 bss@swanick.org.uk
Tayman-Services Ltd Northampton   07974 190128 info@tayman-services.co.uk
Technical Support Ltd Worcestershire   07831 407943 Peter@technicalsupport.ltd.uk
Tough Surveys Ltd London and the South East   020 8977 4494 johntough@btinternet.com
Tucker Designs Hemel Hempstead   01442 253775 tony@tucker-designs.com
W A Shrubb narrowboats Northants   01327 704153 wayne.shrubb@sky.com

Find more canal suppliers and services ►

All materials and images © Canal Junction Ltd. No unauthorised reproduction. About | Terms | Privacy