Canal Boat Ropes and Fender suppliers

Canal boat ropes and fender suppliers and stockists.

All canal boats need ropes for mooring and for handling the boat safely during cruising. Some boaters prefer natural fibre ropes such as hemp or cotton lines, others choose from a wide range of artificial fibre ropes. Most boat owners have a bow line and a stern line when cruising but use different ropes for permanent mooring. Single handed boaters often use a single centre line for convenience. See our information about single handed cruising. And all boats need fenders for comfort and protection. Tradition working narrowboats had a bow fender made of rope coiled around a core which might be a section of folded motor tyre, and rope stern fenders to protect the rudder. Modern boats frequently also have side fenders to protect the paintwork from being scraped when moored or going through locks. Rubber and plastic fenders are now popular.

 

Tony Lewery covers traditional ropework in his Canal Art pages.

 

Be Included
Rope Supplies & Fenders
Avon Impact Management, Melksham Marine Fenders 01225 896421 sales@avon-impact.com
Black Pig Fenders Spalding, Lincolnshire Fender maker And rope supplier 01406 550249 sales@blackpigfenders.co.uk
Bollin Rigging Co Macclesfield Suppliers of traditional ropes 01260 252799   sales@bollinrigging.co.uk
Fender Maker Ltd W. Wales Fender maker 01239 712777   ericjohns@btconnect.com
Great Outdoors Stoke on Trent Fenders makers 07736 033505   michael.greatoutdoors@yahoo.co.uk
Marinox UK Stourbridge West Midlands Ropes, Chains and fittings 07548 92809 marinox@live.co.uk
Mr Splice Rope Company   Rope suppliers & splicing service 0800 169 7178 info@mrsplice.com
Narrowboat Fenders Blisworth Fender maker   nbfenders@clark-blisworth.fsnet.co.uk
Narrow Boat Ropes Basingstoke Decorative narrowboat ropes 01256 464559  afk@narrowboat-ropes.co.uk
Rope Fenders west Kennet & Avon Fender maker & ropeworkers 07901913749   info@ropefenders.co.uk
The Boatyard, Hilperton Hilperton K&A Canal Fenders & rope 07970 729116   thefenderboat@orange.net
The Fender Boat Kennet & Avon Canal Fender maker 07817 364496   richard@fenderboat.co.uk
The Fenderman   Traditional rope fenders 07941 033956   thefenderman@excite.co.uk
The Traditional Rope Company Norfolk Mail order supplier of natural fibre ropes 07813 832693   Neil@TraditionalRopeCompany.co.uk
Timko Ltd Cheshire Rope supplier 07870 164 018   sales@ropesandtwines.com
Trafalgar Marine Services New Mills, High Peak Fender makers, rope suppliers 01663 747808   orders@trafalgarmarineservices.co.uk
Union Industries Hunslet, Leeds. LS10 1AD Ropes and canvas covers 0113 2448393   generaltrading@unionindustries.co.uk

Find more canal suppliers and services ►

All materials and images © Canal Junction Ltd. No unauthorised reproduction. About | Terms | Privacy